Let's Review

Review all kind of Books, Movie, Places, Songs, Events, and etc.

1.08.2022

Synopsis Movie In The Heart Of The Sea

Synopsis Movie In The Heart Of The Sea


Movie review sea


Tonight's television program will broadcast In The Heart of the Sea (2015) at 21.00 WIB.  The following is a synopsis of the film In The Heart of the Sea, starring Chris Hemsworth and Benjamin Walker.

Synopsis of In The Heart of the Sea

Set in 1820, a whaling company, Essex set sail in search of whale oil which was in demand in the market.  The ship was also carrying a crew member named Nickerson who was 14 years old.

On the voyage, the ship's owner also hired a veteran whaler named Owen Chase and a captain named George Pollard, an experienced sailor from a whaling family who was jealous of Chase's skills and popularity.

In the middle of the journey, Chase and Pollard clashed.  Pollard takes the ship into a storm against Chase's advice and ends up putting the whole ship in danger.

After a heated argument, Chase and Pollard agreed to put their differences aside.  This finally encouraged the crew to be more enthusiastic about hunting whales.

Three months on, the Essex ship has not gotten any results.  Pollard realized that no whales inhabit the Atlantic Ocean.  He also took his ship through Cape Horn to the Pacific Ocean and wished luck.

Arriving in Atacames, Ecuador, they met a Spanish captain who informed them that his crew had found an area 2,000 miles to the west inhabited by dozens of whales.

But he warned them there were even large white whales that could destroy ships.  He even admitted that he lost six of his men.

The story made Pollard and Chase even more excited for an expedition to the west.  They even ignored the threat of the giant white whale.

When they arrived at their destination, bad things happened to their ship.  A large white whale attacked and damaged their ship.  Now, Pollard and Chase must rack their brains to save their team from the savage battle.

About the Movie

In the Heart of the Sea is an adventure drama film directed and produced by Ron Howard.  While the script was written by Charles Leavitt.

This film is based on Nathaniel Philbrick's non-fiction work of the same name, about the sinking of the whaling ship Essex in 1820. It also inspired Herman Melville to write his phenomenal work Moby-Dick.

The film stars Chris Hemsworth, Benjamin Walker, Cillian Murphy, Tom Holland, Ben Whishaw, and Brendan Gleeson.

With a massive budget of $100 million, the majority of which was spent on stunning special effects, will this film live up to the expectations of the audience?  Check out our review of the film that can be rewatched on Netflix.

Synopsis movie sea


Opinion About Movie

In the Heart of the Sea seems to have a story theme that is divided into at least four, namely the relationship of real events that inspired popular novels, feelings of humanity in whale hunters, stories of survival struggles and violations of moral ethics by the company.  Perhaps Charles Leavitt as the scriptwriter tried to balance all this, but he failed.

Indeed, all of these themes are successfully shown in the film according to their portions, but they actually make us not understand the direction and purpose of this film because of the lack of deep digging to inspire.  This factor made Ron Howard's big name as a top director slightly tarnished because he could not display the essence of a film with a theme that was almost similar to his best film, Apollo 13 (1995).

Both carry the theme of survival in critical situations related to the technology of their time, it turns out that the story line in In the Heart of the Sea is too wide and not as close as Apollo 13. Perhaps the intention is to open up insights about this important event more broadly from various perspectives.  side, but it obscures the essence of the film itself.

Movie's Facts

Owen Chase, played by Chris Hemsworth, is in fact a famous whale hunter from Nantucket.  Since the sinking of the Essex ship, Chase's life has only pivoted on the search for the giant whale that had sunk the Essex ship to make his household life a mess and divorced three times.

This failed obsession with execution only served as the inspiration for Herman Melville for his popular novel, Moby-Dick, which derives much of its story from Chase's journal about the chronology of the sinking of the Essex ship four months after his return to Nantucket.  This fact obscures the story in the film where Melville gets a story from one of the ship's crew.

In fact, Melville himself wrote the novel without ever visiting Nantucket at all.  But the scene in the film can still be tolerated because the location of Melville and Nickerson's meeting is not explained with certainty, whether it is in Nantucket or not.  And maybe we're a little fooled by the appearance of Brendan Gleeson, who plays Nickerson, who looks more like Chris Hemsworth than Tom Holland.

So we think that this film is based on the story from Owen Chase's point of view, it turns out to be from the story presented by Thomas Nickerson.  In fact, this story is directly based on Chase's own writing as described earlier.  This factor is enough to weaken the story because it does not speak according to the facts.  Instead, it complicates the facts.

Movie Information

Year: 2015

Genre: Action, Adventure, Biography, Drama, History

Production: Roth Films, Spring Creek, Imagine Entertainment

Director: Ron Howard

Cast: Chris Hemsworth, Benjamin Walker, Cillian Murphy, Tom Holland, Brendan Gleeson




12.17.2021

GERD Is A Treatable Disease, Here Are The Symptoms And Causes

GERD Is A Treatable Disease, Here Are The Symptoms And Causes

gerd disease


GERD is a disease that occurs when stomach acid often flows back into the tube that connects the mouth and stomach (esophagus). GERD stands for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease. Quoted from the mayoclinic this disease occurs when stomach acid often flows back into the tube that connects the mouth and stomach (esophagus).

Many people experience acid reflux from time to time. This passage (acid reflux) can irritate the lining of your esophagus. GERD is mild acid reflux that occurs at least twice a week, or moderate to severe acid reflux that occurs at least once a week.

Most people can manage the discomfort of GERD with lifestyle changes and over-the-counter medications. But some people with GERD may need stronger medications or surgery to relieve symptoms.

Symptom

Common signs and symptoms of GERD include:

  • A burning sensation in the chest (heartburn), usually after eating, which may be worse at night
  • Chest pain
  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Regurgitation of acidic food or fluids
  • Sensation of a lump in the throat
  • If you experience acid reflux at night, you may also experience:
  • Chronic cough
  • Sore throat
  • New or worsening asthma
  • Disturbed sleep

When should you go to the doctor?

Seek immediate medical attention if you have chest pain, especially if you also have shortness of breath, or jaw or arm pain. These may be signs and symptoms of a heart attack.

Make an appointment with your doctor if you:

Experiencing severe GERD symptoms or frequently taking over-the-counter medications for heartburn more than twice a week

The cause of GERD is due to frequent acid reflux.

When you swallow, the circular band of muscle around the bottom of your esophagus (lower esophageal sphincter) relaxes to allow food and liquids to flow into your stomach. Then the sphincter closes again.

If the sphincter relaxes abnormally or weakens, stomach acid can flow back into your esophagus. This constant acid wash irritates the lining of your esophagus, often causing it to become inflamed.

Risk factors

  • Conditions that can increase your risk of GERD include:
  • Obesity
  • Protrusion of the upper part of the abdomen into the diaphragm (hiatal hernia)
  • Pregnancy
  • Connective tissue disorders, such as scleroderma
  • Delayed emptying of the stomach

Factors that can worsen acid reflux include:

  • Smoke
  • Eat large portions or eat late at night
  • Eating certain foods (triggers) such as fatty or fried foods
  • Drink certain beverages, such as alcohol or coffee
  • Taking certain medications, such as aspirin

Complications

Over time, chronic inflammation in your esophagus can cause: Narrowing of the esophagus (esophageal stricture). Damage to the lower esophagus from stomach acid causes scar tissue to form.

Scar tissue narrows the passage of food, leading to swallowing problems. Open sores in the esophagus (esophageal ulcers). Stomach acid can erode the tissue in the esophagus, causing open sores.

Esophageal ulcers can bleed, cause pain and make swallowing difficult. Precancerous changes in the esophagus (Barrett's esophagus). Acid damage can cause changes in the tissue that lines the lower esophagus. These changes are associated with an increased risk of esophageal cancer.



12.13.2021

The Best Way to Make Exercise a Healthy Habit Every Day

The Best Way to Make Exercise a Healthy Habit Every Day

health habit

Laziness often eats away at the body when it is time to start exercising . Motivation alone is often not enough to discipline and consistently exercise every day.

So that you are no longer lazy to exercise, you can do the following ways. Recent studies have found the best way to make exercise a daily habit.

The study, published in the journal Nature, analyzed the exercise behavior of 60,000 people in the gym. This study aims to find out the best way to increase attendance at the gym.

Instead of looking at the success of an exercise program, researchers tested 53 tactics to see why people exercise regularly.

As a result, researchers found the best way to make exercise a habit every day is good planning, reminders, and also rewards or rewards that are obtained.

Researchers have found that planning to exercise makes people more likely to go to the gym than those who don't. Likewise, a reminder in the form of a text message that is set 30 minutes before exercise will make someone move to the gym.

Meanwhile, incentives or rewards for every exercise of around US$ 0.22 or Rp. 3,000 can increase the frequency of exercise by up to 9 percent.

"Obviously, the amount of money is trivial (we call our rewards 'micro-incentives' for a reason), but it draws attention to avoiding some missed visits," study lead author Katy Milkman told CNN .

Observers also consider that rewarding when exercising can be an intervention that makes someone exercise regularly.

"The best-performing interventions are those that reward participants for returning to the gym after exercise. This may mean that (if) we fall short of our plans, we should try to push ourselves back into our plans," says health economics professor Heather. Royer, commented on the results of this study.

1.22.2018

Book Review : Prodigy Prince by Natasha Sapienza

Book Review : Prodigy Prince by Natasha Sapienza

Prodigy Prince



At seventeen, all Prince Nuelle had ever known was safety and peace while living in the Supreme Palace of Zephoris. 

But one night, his older brother, Tane, defies their father by traveling to a cursed land. Now Nuelle holds the signet-ring and carries more responsibility than even Tane bore. Thrust from the palace and sent to a knight-building academy, Nuelle must discover his purpose for the entire kingdom’s sake. 

From his place of banishment, Prince Antikai has been exacting revenge through fear and rebellions. Nuelle has the potential to defeat him, but he needs the help of a powerful book and six gifted youths. 

Summoned by Antikai, shape-shifting beasts and other enemies hunt Nuelle and the Acumen. If either is destroyed, the faithful citizens in Zephoris will perish, and darkness will rule forever. 


***

Book Details


Title : Prodigy Prince
Author : Natasha Sapienza
Series Name : The Sevent Covenant
Publication Date : Sept 19th, 2017
Page : 334
Format : Ebook
Rating : 3/5
ISBN13 : 9781977513779
Goodreads Link : https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36277347-prodigy-prince


***

I've got a lot of distraction while reading Prodigy Prince. Moreover, it has fast storyline, when the first chapter there were intruders, Sir Amador whom he stood under the shadows of vast orange leaves was gripping his swords. Three shadowy, human with pale skin, were attacked them in silence. Fights can not be avoided, Zagan from Obsidian attacked them when they were not ready yet.

Prince Nuelle joins in that fight, even though all his sentinel tried to protect him. Especially Ave - whom he is his best friend as well - trying to protect his Prince. Sadly, Zagan killed Sir Amador and before he died, he whispered softly : "King Nifal Commanded that you both are to stay in the chariot." The hardest thing to do is they have to leave quickly even Ave won't leave Sir Amandor's by himself. And then Nuelle used both his arms to hold Ave, fighting with all his strength, trying so hard to drag Ave back into the chariot. They must leave the forest soon.

When they were arrived at Supreme Palace, Nuelle's father tried to protect his boys from traitors. He pushed them to be staying at Supreme Palace, even then Tane - Nuelle's brother - decided to go. Tane want to give a death to Antikai, even it was harder for the first time, but Nuelle still has to let his brother go. Tane insist to go to Obsidian and take a revenge.

"No matter what happens, I will always be your brother." ~ Pg 17



***

If you are loving to read fantasy genre such as Lord of the ring, Hobbit or Game of Thrones. You will like reading Prodigy Prince, this is the first book of "The Sevent Covenant" series. Sapienza sent me an E-Arc in exchange with an honest review. Thank you so much Natasha Sapienza! You could find her at HisNatashaSapienza.com.

Prodigy Prince has a lot of tribes which each of the tribe has a different and unique magic they had. Just like Athdonia whom they had yellow eyed and have excellent knowledge about gardens. Or Gavrail people who have red eyed and Kaimana who usually sea-lovers because their land is surrounded by water.

One of quick reading ebook I've read in 2018, so I recommend you to read this. You can read it on the Kindle too, it has a pretty cover as well. What I really imagine that Tane is such as sexy as Kylo Ren. I don't know where I've got this idea, just because he is really taking a good care of his brother and suddenly my mind connected to Kylo Ren's characters. I know, I might be over-dreaming ahahaha.



***


I love the character of Prince Nuelle, even though he is a prince, he always looks forward to protect their sentinel and best friends. He is not that type of prince who hiding or running away when the battle is coming. He is such a nice prince. Even his father, in my opinion, is a weak-person but he is a King. He always hides in Supreme Palace just to keep a peace for himself.

I can't imagine how Ave looks like, but I get more curious about Papo. I guess there would be more unique creature in this series. Overall, I enjoy taking an adventure on Sapienza's world with Antikai, Nuelle and Ave also Papo.



1.09.2018

The Casual Vacancy Book Review

The Casual Vacancy Book Review

Casual Vacancy



The Casual Vacancy Book Review - It is the first time for me reading Rowling's book, her first adult novel after the legend series Harry Potter, Casual Vacancy. Even though I really like it, I couldn't finish it fastly. The character's conflicts are more confusing than their life-reality. Started from the death of Barry - whom he was senator of Pagford - when he and her wife wanted to get dinner at Golf Club. The death that shocked almost of his friends and all people in Pagford. There were a few people who don't care about his death, a few others are happy because of the vacant condition and another were so sad with his leaving.
Rowling writes every single story from their circumtances during this Casual Vacancy from people on Pagford. Those who are happy for this situation tried to propose for new senator and those who were affected by his death. The story flowing from one characters to others, filled with their thoughts and plans for their lives. It started from Monday when almost of them heard the news, his death's story was grew more and more from one mouth to another with different point of view.

Some of them focued on his family - especially Marry his wife and his children - what would they do after his death, how sad are they when someone that special has gone. And another focused on his death in the young age, he is still in the early of forthy and the news came up with a disease that also killed his brother years ago. And then there were who focused on the style of Barry when he was death, his face was greased by his retch while his body upper body was lying on the land. 



***

Pagford has divided into two places, Pagford where all rich families are lived and Fields the living poor families. For almost rich family in Pagfor, Fields are the things that exist with shamefully things : drugs, free sex, robber are exist here. People who lived in Fields are disgraceful to be neighboor, that is why members of senator which don't agree Fields to be part of them. They wont people from Fields across their places, they wont children from Fields study at their school. What they asked is to separated Fields from their lives.

This sparring has continue even Barry has been death. However, the Casual Vacancy has been something that contested from one candidate to another. For Howard the death of Barry is something fortunate because it means Howard could submit his candidate to run his vision. Of course it is all about Fields. Because, when Barry was still alive, he was the senator that tried to gave a chance to people in Fields to be a part of them. Even Barry tried to cut the differences between children from Fields and Pagford at the school. This was his vision to thrown away the racicsme.


***



For Andrew Price, his life is more than a horror movie. His dad is so cruel, he never thought that he could live with them anymore. With his best friend - Fats - he always spent his daily life in school and when free time with him. Sometimes, Fats is a fun when he always tried to make a fun of his dad. But, for Andrew when Fats bullied another students, it became a burdened for him, he find nothing than disgraceful behaviour from Fats. Especially when Fats bullied Sukhvinder and told her that she is a mustache girl.

Fats's life is not better than Andrew, he always being a nice boy since he was a kid. His Dad is a head master at school, his mother is a consulting students. He always goes to school with both his parents, other students always make a fun with his parents but ended with him stand up to fight them. But, when he is grow as a teenager, he wants to make some different with his life. And decided to sleep with Krystal - student from his school that lived in Fields - one day and skipping the school. Even after that, his Dad really angry with him and both are having fight at the car while go to their home.

Gavin is Barry's asistant, when he heard the death of his partner, he is the one whom really sad about it. He is the character of a man who always lead by his girlfriend. Almost of people in Pagford known that. But, when Barry's death, he is more careful with Marry as a wife of his best friend. 

Three of them are lived in Pagford, each of characters have a story that connected into one big story that make this book existed. One thing that you should know that it has no magic as Harry Potter, instead of magic it has a lot of jerk people behind their mask. At the first chapter it was really hard to get into it, but when it reached almost the end of the book, I found it really interesting because it has a unique plot twist.


***

Book Details


Title : The Casual Vacancy
Hardcover, 593 pages
Published November 2012 by Qanita (first published September 27th 2012)
Original Title : The Casual Vacancy
ISBN : 6029225685 (ISBN13: 9786029225686)
Edition Language : Indonesian
URL : http://casualvacancyindo.com/
Characters : Barry Fairbrother, Mary Fairbrother, Howard Mollison, Shirley Mollison, Samantha Mollison, Miles Mollison, Krystal Weedon, Terri Weedon, Colin "Cubby" Wall, Tessa Wall, Stuart "Fats" Wall, Andrew Price, Ruth Price, Simon Price, Gavin Hughes, Kay Bawden, Gaia Bawden, Parminder Jawanda, Sukhvinder Jawanda, Vikram Jawanda, Robbie Weedon, Barry Fairbrother, Mary Fairbrother, Howard Mollison, Shirley Mollison, Samantha Mollison
setting : Pagford (United Kingdom)





12.01.2017

#BookOpinion Eliza And Her Monsters by Fransesca Zappia

#BookOpinion Eliza And Her Monsters by Fransesca Zappia



Lately, I haven't had more time to write here. But, I'm still active on my Instagram account @blogger.reads also @alenaslibrary . If you haven't, please follow me and then I'll follow you back - especially if yours are bookstagram too. Today, I'd like to talking about Eliza and Her Monsters, a novel by Fransesca Zappia.

It's the first time for me to read her works, I've got this novel from a giveaway. So proud of myself when I could win it. But, I just read it a few months later. It was because I had no motivation to read all books from my TBR piles. I need something different, romance, light stories yet still in a good shape. When I was stuck to choose and it has took a minute longer, then I decided to read Eliza and Her Monsters.

Even my friends on Bookstagram Community already gave me a few information about the story, but I'm still doubt in my self, whether I can finish it or not.

When I began to read this novel.... something weird tuckled in my head.

Eliza is an introvert girl. Her life really represented my condition too. About me that couldn't easily get along with everyone else. And decided to sit down far away from the crowd and make myself busy with books. Although I'm not that real introvert, because when my own mood is in a good shape, I'll try to make a conversation with someone who near me.

The addiction that Eliza has, is one of the situation that always happened in almost of people around me nowadays. When they were so addicted to their phone and their online-life. I know, sometimes I have done these things too, when I felt so much enjoyed to had a conversation with friends in IG. But, when I read this novel, it brings me some awareness about my real life. Am I already had a good things have done in reality?

I thanked to Zappia, with her story. Because I already a Monstrous Sea fans too! Although, I'm still don't have any Monstrous Sea merchandise. But, it reminds me of this when someone talked about Constellation. Really, am I already addicted to it? Ahahahaha, I don't blame you!

The other things I like about Eliza and Her Monsters : When Eliza draws her stories, she was so professional. She wants to make something good, not just as it is. As for me, a man who couldn't draw anything, it sounds so amazing! I love when her sketch appears on the page, it makes me surprise.

I was no doubt to try reading Zappia's next book someday. So, I'm waiting a chance to buy her books. I gave it 5/5 because it is my favorite!

How about you? Have you been reading this book? Or do you have a book that makes you fell in love after finished?

If you don't mind to share with me, because I want to know more about favorite books from all of you. So, please leave a comment here :).

8.25.2017

King's Effect For All His Almighty Horror Novels

King's Effect For All His Almighty Horror Novels



For your information, eventho Stephen King is the best writer nowadays and his works already adapted into movies. You must know one thing, he has a different kind of horror. What I have to say? Like Cell, one of his novel's title, told us a story about all telephone's users. Or The eyes of the dragon, a story teller fairy special for his daughter, this one was a strange book I've ever read. The different fantasy or fairy tales, yet still good to read and my favorite too.

Revival Novel Stephen King

And then I read this novel, entitled Revival, a story about life spans of Jamie, from child into the grownup man - or should I said older man. The young Jamie live surround by people who always seems religious to me. His mom always teach her kids to be a good children, go to the church frequently and they were a good bestfriend for the new Reverend on Metodhist Road. His name is Jacob and he has a good family too. His wife was so beautiful and his boy was a young cute boy named Morris.

On the other day, Jamie invited by Jacob to his house. He shown Jamie his invention, a big miniature of a village that could move by itself when you push the power botton. He called it the almighty of Electricity. Once, he was confessed that his wife told him, he was crazy about it. And yes, that was one thing that made him so addicted.

A tragedy happened, Jacob's wife and child died by the car accident. That was a very very gloomy day that Jamie ever had. No ones talking out loud just like before, his brother and sister gone to the church with his parents. Jamie has to stayed at home, because he was a child. And oneday, Jacob's back to the routines activity, he gave a sermons that would be his last. The sermon made all of people in church felt uncomfortable. He was just told a nonsense for old people, yet for Jamie it was the truth that sometimes world isn't fair.

Jacob has to leave Metodhist Road, that was an instruction from his boss and also from all of people on this place. Before he go, Jamie runnning by himself to Jacob's house and met him for the last time. Jacob told a lot of story to him, also told him to visited a lighthouse inside the forest. He said that there were a lot of thunder that would made him saw a beauty of world's heaven. Jamie promised to himself that oneday he should visit that place.

After Reverend Jacob's left, Jamie's became a teenager and he was promote by his brother to be a guitar player. His band perfomance getting succesful. Also this chapter on his life, when the first time he met his girlfriend and spent a lot of time with her. On the other day he was a guitar player and acquaitance with smoke and drug. One day, his band bumped him while he was drunk and addiction to drug. He was by himself on that day, don't have money on his pocket, just a few to fill his stomache.

He leave a motel and tried to find a new mottel before he gone home. Right there, outside the event, he saw his favorite Reverend : Jacob. He was perfom a magic with his electricity. Jamie's tough it was a fake magic just like others magician. And then he would find out more about it, after he was healed by Jacob's invention tool. Using electricity to surprise the heart and then made all his neurons worked a bit different. Suddenly, Jamie recover from his addiction and became someone new.

But, Jamie found that something has happened when he was surprised by the electricity tool. He certainly known that something happened eventhough Jacob;s denied. With his invention, Jacob healed all his patients including Jamie's ex-girlfriend. But, oneday someone punch Jacob and yelled at him because his treatment. The man's daughter became a stranger, she couldn't manage herself and a lot of bad things happened after the electricity shock. After all, Jamie soon figure it out, it was all because of him, said Jacob.

As for me, the mistery that lies in this novel, about the addiction. When Jacob tried to found out where is afterlife's place, is it really exists or not. He guide his patients into mined of life to describe what they saw there. The description they gave to Jacob made him proud, he always wanted more. He wanna know what is behind the afterlife's gate. And his craziness guideance all his patients into abnormal death. This was a terrifies moment that I couldn't erase from my memory.

Thank you, King. You made my nightmare just like came true. And my day became very different in a strange way. But, trust me, I'm still the way I used to be but more strangely I guess. This is what I called, King's effect. And I know it wouldn't last forever, I just need couple days to take a rest.